Let Them Sing It For You

This website is endlessly amusing http://www.sr.se/P1/src/sing/ You type in any combination of words in the English language and the application plays back each word sampled from a song in its database.  One of my favorites is I hate my work.

It is a little disappointing because if you type “I,” it will always cue up Chris Isaak crooning from Wicked Game and the word “my” is pulled from Unchained Melody, but some of the fun is recognizing the origin of the samples.  My thanks to the All Songs Considered blog for discovering this website. 

Speaking of which, I highly recommend subscribing to the All Songs Considered podcast as they are doing some great work wrapping up the decade.  Their Nov. 9th episode discussed some of the developments, trends and memorable moments of the aughts and the Nov. 16th edition will focus on the decade’s best recordings across genres.

Leave a Reply

