Dean & Britta Play Galaxie 500 @ Lincoln Hall 12/3/10

Dean Wareham & Britta Phillips played Galaxie 500 songs last night at a not quite capacity Lincoln Hall.  It was night one of a two night stand performing the music of Dean’s original band Galaxie 500.  I went in with a bit of trepidation as I didn’t want my image of the original lineup of Galaxie 500 tarnished by this tour, however my doubts were easily assuaged.  Wareham’s voice sounded fantastic as he turned back the clock hitting high notes he hasn’t attempted on record since the Galaxie 500 days. (Case in point, a stellar “Snowstorm” on a night Chicago was indeed expecting the first measurable storm of the year.)

Wareham is also no slouch on guitar.  The solos seemed to just flow out of him.  If it weren’t for the fact that Britta and he have a career/life together I could certainly see these shows billed as Dean Wareham Plays Galaxie 500.  My one gripe in the set was having Britta sing “Listen, The Snow Is Falling.”  I assumed they wouldn’t touch any songs that had previously featured Naomi Yang on vocals, but sure enough they did.  I won’t call it a sacrilege, but as a fan I would have opted not to play it.

Friday’s two song encore kicked off with “I’ll Keep It With Mine” (written by Bob Dylan) taken from Dean & Britta’s Songs For Andy Warhol’s Screen Tests.  The closer was “Ceremony.”  I plan to write a summary review after attending Saturday night’s second show.

Night 1 Setlist:

1. Flowers

2. Pictures

3. Temperature’s Rising

4. Snowstorm

5. Decomposing Trees

6. Strange

7. Blue Thunder

8. Summertime

9. When Will You Come Home

10. Don’t Let Our Youth Go To Waste

11. Tugboat

12. Listen, The Snow Is Falling

13. Fourth Of July

*Encore

14. I’ll Keep It With Mine

from D & B’s 13 Most Beautiful: Songs For Andy Warhol’s Screen Tests

15. Ceremony

One thought on “Dean & Britta Play Galaxie 500 @ Lincoln Hall 12/3/10

Leave a Reply

