Scooparrilli Spins 2010

Every year I (painstakingly) design a playlist of my favorite songs.  In past years I have allowed myself 2 discs worth of material, but wanted to be more concise and more selective this year.  So despite being tempted to have 2 songs called “Runaway” (both Kanye West & The National had tracks with that title) on my playlist I opted for just one.

Now go on over to your favorite music purveyor and purchase these songs or leave a comment to let me know why I am wrong.  (Editor’s note: I discluded remasters, reissues & old rarities that saw the light of day in 2010)  Happy Holidays!

1.  Superchunk – Digging for Something

2.  LCD Soundsystem – All I Want

3.  Jónsi – Boy Lilikoi

4.  Kanye West – Devil In A New Dress

5.  The National – Runaway

6.  The Vaselines – I Hate the ’80s

7.  Ariel Pink’s Haunted Graffiti – Round And Round

8.  Teenage Fanclub – Baby Lee

9.  Caribou – Odessa

10.  Dean & Britta – International Velvet Redux

11.  Deerhunter – Memory Boy

12.  Gorillaz – On Melancholy Hill

13.  Mavis Staples – You Are Not Alone

14.  Real Estate – Out Of Tune

15.  Sharon Van Etten – One Day

16.  The Tallest Man On Earth – The Dreamer

17.  The Walkmen – Woe Is Me

18.  Grinderman – Palaces of Montezuma

So I’ve been thinking it over & my apologies to those bands I left off, most notably:

Belle & Sebastian, Beach House, Arcade Fire, The Soft Pack, Yeasayer, Field Music, Frightened Rabbit, Badly Drawn Boy, Dr. Dog, Isobel Campbell & Mark Lanegan, Jamie Lidell, Local Natives, Best Coast, Wavves, Menomena, Broken Social Scene, No Age, Owen Pallett, Spoon, She & Him, S. Carey, Sonny & The Sunsets, Sufjan Stevens, Sun Kil Moon, Phil Selway, Vampire Weekend, Warpaint, Woods…

Lest you think 2010 wasn’t a strong year in music, all of the artists listed above put out very strong albums as well.  Geez, I could’ve easily filled 3 CDs with one quality track by any of these artists.  Perhaps next year is the year to install a mid year “mixtape” and a December mixtape.

Leave a Reply

