The Decemberists @ Aragon Ballroom 7/25/11

Colin Meloy certainly doesn’t shy from the spotlight.  He led The Decemberists in their first ever appearance at The Aragon Ballroom after several recent tour stops down the block at The Riviera.  The set pulled heavily from the group’s strong, concise 2011 record, The King Is Dead.  Set opener “Apology Song” from the debut EP 5 Songs was definitely a nice surprise and depending on your taste (you were pleased or dismayed by) the closer of the first encore, the superfan role-playing oddity “The Mariner’s Revenge Song.”

Monday’s setlist:

1. Apology Song

2. Calamity Song

3. Down By The Water

4. January Hymn

5. Dreams [Fleetwood Mac] / Here I Dreamt I Was an Architect

6. The Bagman’s Gambit

7. We Both Go Down Together

8. Won’t Want for Love (Margaret in the Taiga) vocals by Sara Watkins

9. The Crane Wife 3

10. All Arise!

11. Rox In The Box

12. The Rake’s Song

13. Dracula’s Daughter / O Valencia!

14. This Is Why We Fight

Encore 1:

15. The Hazards of Love 4 (The Drowned)

16. When U Love Somebody [Fruit Bats]

17. The Mariner’s Revenge Song

Encore 2:

18. June Hymn

WXRT radio has a photo set from the show located here:



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s