Arctic Monkeys @ House Of Blues 8/6/11 Post-Lollapalooza Show

Frontman Alex Turner said the word “Chicago” no less than 11 times when addressing the audience at HOB in a set that was marked by peaks and valleys.  The performance proved to me that they might just be a “singles band” as opposed to an album band.  I found the songs from the first 2 albums to be head and shoulders above the newer material.  Drummer Matt Helders however was a force of nature on his Union Jack themed drum set from start to finish.


1. Library Pictures

2. Brianstorm

3. This House Is A Circus

4. Still Take You Home

5.  Don’t Sit Down ‘Cause I’ve Moved Your Chair

6. Pretty Visitors

7. She’s Thunderstorms

8. Teddy Picker

9. Crying Lightning

10. Brick By Brick

11. Potion Approaching

12. The Hellcat Spangled Shalalala

13. The View From The Afternoon

14. I Bet You Look Good On The Dancefloor

15. All My Own Stunts

16. If You Were There, Beware

17. Do Me A Favour

18. When The Sun Goes Down


19. Fluorescent Adolescent

20. 505

Best moments “Teddy Picker” followed by “Crying Lightning” / “The View From The Afternoon” into “I Bet You Look Good On The Dancefloor” / Set closing “When The Sun Goes Down” / The encore opening “Fluorescent Adolescent.”


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s