Morrissey @ Congress Theater – 12/17/11

Setlist:

1. I Want The One I Can’t Have

2. You Have Killed Me

3. You’re The One For Me, Fatty

4. When Last I Spoke To Carol

5. There Is A Light That Never Goes Out

6. Everyday Is Like Sunday

7. Maladjusted

8. First Of The Gang To Die

9. People Are The Same Everywhere

10. Speedway

11. All The Lazy Dykes

12. Satellite Of Love

13. Meat Is Murder

14. Ouija Board, Ouija Board

15. Scandinavia

16. I Know It’s Over

17. Let Me Kiss You

XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX

18. Still Ill

My notes:

The Smiths songs sound far better than they have on recent tours.  The show was bookended by two such stellar numbers, “I Want The One I Can’t Have” to open and “Still Ill” to close, before the stage bum rush sent Morrissey escaping to the wings of the stage.

Yes, he took off his shirt and launched it into the crowd standing barechested before running off, bashfully.

Morrissey likened the imminent attack of Iran by America as a case of “penis envy” [his actual words] prior to “People Are The Same Everywhere.”

Moz referred to Lou Reed as someone who made America great before playing “Satellite Of Love” and after said, “If you don’t know who wrote it, then get out!”

Song I surprised myself by thoroughly enjoying…”Maladjusted.”

Morrissey changed the lyrics of “Meat Is Murder” to Kill Eat, Kill Eat, Murder and performed with the Meet Your Meat graphic video displayed behind him.  Talk about a downer and sucking the life out of the room.

The Congress played far better than I remembered and the show was well attended.  Chicago politician John Fritchey was in attendance.

My Morrissey concert experience includes 8 shows beginning with the Your Arsenal show at Poplar Creek.  The 8 shows I’ve seen have taken place in 6 different Chicago venues. (Poplar Creek, Aragon, Riviera, Metro, The Auditorium & Congress)

Leave a Reply

